Stories, Thoughts, and Evacuations

…just a place to call my own.

My All-time Favorite Christmas Movies

leave a comment »

The following is a list of my favorite Christmas movies to watch during the holiday season:

The Bishop’s Wife

Miracle on 34th Street

It’s a Wonderful Life

A Christmas Carol (1938)

A Christmas Carol (1951)

A Christmas Carol (1984)

A Christmas Carol (1999)

White Christmas

Scrooged

A Christmas Story

Elf

Christmas Vacation

The Rankin/Bass Collection

A Charlie Brown Christmas

How the Grinch Stole Christmas

The Holiday

Love Actually

These are not only some of my favorite holiday movies, but also some of my favorite movies period.  These special movies fall into a “feel good” category that highlights the joy of the time of year and the “good will towards man” qualities we all cherish and enjoy.

The viewing of these movies usually begins on Thanksgiving Day.  We congregate at my wife’s Aunt’s house; various friends and family spend the day conversing, eating, drinking, smoking, and watching holiday favorites.  This day prepares us/me for the movie viewing tradition all the way up to the 25th of Dec.

This year however, I began watching my Christmas movies the Monday before Thanksgiving.  I so looked forward to my favorite holiday movies that I couldn’t resist starting my month-long movie marathon early.  The first movie I watched was my favorite – The Bishop’s Wife.  I will try to highlight and write-up at least my top 5 movies before Christmas Day.  So, without further ado…

The Bishop’s Wife –

The main stars are Cary Grant, Loretta Young, and David Niven. The story revolves around a bishop (Niven) trying to get a new cathedral built. Facing insurmountable obstacles and feeling at a loss, he prays for guidance.  Cary Grant is the “Angel” who is sent down to help.  Loretta Young plays, big surprise, the Bishop’s wife.

I came across this movie in my early twenties while working at video stores.  I had never heard of the movie.  I remember the amazement I felt the first time I watched this classic.  The unique original story line quickly sparked or re-ignited my existing love for my favorite holiday of the year.

Various “stand out” scenes and moments include:

Dudley (Grant) saving a baby in a runaway carriage from crashing into a delivery truck…

Dudley helps an appreciative blind man across a busy street while cars screech to a halt right before them…

Dudley starts and continues an amusing “accidental” interaction with Prof. Wutheridge (an old family friend of the Bishop and his wife)… ending with the assurance that the old Professor will finish writing his book.

And, Dudley helps young Debby (the Bishop’s daughter) join in and win a snow ball fight!

These are but a few of the many memorable moments in this great film.  If you haven’t already seen this wonderful movie, you will not be disappointed in searching it out this Christmas.

Written by REscarcega

November 30, 2010 at 8:11 pm

Posted in Thoughts

Leave a Reply

