Stories, Thoughts, and Evacuations

…just a place to call my own.

Is it too forward to offer a compliment to a total stranger?

with 4 comments

If a man compliments a woman’s appearance or a feature of theirs (within reason of course – boobs and ass excluded), will he come across as a *perv* or will the recipient accept the honest praise with how it was intended?

I only ask because I’m not that guy.  I’m never one to search and acknowledge people out in public.  Or entice someone into conversation even about subjects I know of.  I’m just not wired that way.

Alyssa Milano

Within the last month, while doing laundry, I’ve come across the same cute girl with attractive short hair, twice.  She has a dirty blond (with hints of red) little boy’s haircut.  And it looks GREAT on her!  She has light skin and clean symmetrical facial features; she’s not unattractive, but my eyes were drawn to the shortness and style of her hair.

Maggie Gyllenhaal

If you haven’t already noticed, I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, short hair on women.  I’m well aware that I’m in the minority on this admiration.  I believe the percentage of men that prefer women with long hair is close to 90%.  Whether it be conventional, customary views or maybe just the fascination that their *better halves* should look different than them…I don’t know.  For me, there has always been something about short hair that allows me to actually see the person in a clearer, uncluttered light; the ears, the lines of the neck down to the shoulders and upper arms…all features I consider very attractive on a woman.

My Sunday morning laundry buddy is probably in her twenties and has dressed in comfy jeans and tee-shirt on both occasions.  She came in alone the first time I saw her and with a guy the second time – her boyfriend, husband, captor?  I don’t know…by the way, if you (laundry-girl) read this, he’s no good for you.  Just saying.

Bryce Dallas Howard

If I encounter someone of visual interest at the laundromat or anywhere for that matter, I sometimes find myself wondering what they do for a living, what type of friends they have, where they live (yes, I know, I’m weird).  I even go one step further and actually try to picture how happy and or content they might be.  Since the preset pretty-people are eye-catching, has that surface benefit given them more of a likelihood of being cheerful or fulfilled?

So this last time while folding clothes, I caught myself stealing glances at her hair a number of times.  Being a professional people watcher, I try to be as stealth as possible but I know if caught, you run the risk of entering into stalker territory.  It’s not as if I have chloroform, a large burlap sack, and some strong rope in my trunk or anything like that.  At least not in plain sight anyway.

So my dilemma being, do I go up to this perfect stranger and mention how cool her hair looks?  The worst that can happen is she blankly says, “Thanks.” and continues sorting through her clothes…or…she comes back minutes later with a pack of Rottweilers to tear me apart limb from limb.

Pink

I’m hoping if I bring up the positive critique, she’ll chalk one up in her *YES* mental chart and appreciate the accolade.  Because, no matter what, women truly do love compliments, right?

Laura & a bit of baby Jordan

Throughout are pictures of a few of my favorite celebs with short hair plus one of my beautiful wife.  (Laura’s being the shortest cut she’s ever had and not coincidentally, my favorite hairstyle she’s ever had!).  Come on Hunny Bunny, cut it short like that again, will you?

Written by REscarcega

October 31, 2010 at 8:06 pm

Posted in Thoughts

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. well, I do have to say that your wife is one of the most beautiful women I have ever met (both inside and out) and YES, she looks adorable with the short haircut

    nina

    November 2, 2010 at 12:55 pm

  2. I know, huh? Seeeee Lala…Nina speaks only of the truth. I will cast a vote in the *YAY* column on your behalf. And if any *NAY* votes happen to appear…well, let`s just say posts have been known to mysteriously disappear…just saying.

    Ricardo Escarcega

    November 2, 2010 at 3:21 pm

  3. OMG! You are hysterical! Good thing you acknowledged your wife at the end of the post. Ha! Very entertaining read, dude! 🙂

    my.

    November 11, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    • Thanks Michelle! Yep, Lala knows where my heart and *eyes* truly reside. 🙂

      Ricardo

      November 11, 2010 at 11:07 pm


Leave a Reply

